Two loads not intended to run simultaneously

Status
Not open for further replies.

Core_d

Hello to all, new poster here and not an electrician by trade,

If you had two loads of equal size that are never intended to run at the same time, is there any way to make this compliant and allowed to share a single circuit?

I could describe the specific application better if necessary, thanks in advance.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
This comes close to a DIY question by a related trade, but I will allow it for now as a theoretical question.
The NEC does not, in this situation consider intent. If on separate circuits you might not need to take both at full value for upstream amperage calculations.
To allow them to share a circuit which can only power one at a time you would need some form of switching or interlock that only allows one at a time to run.
The details of how this can be accomplished should be referred to a qualified electrician or control technician depending on what the loads are.

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk

Core_d

Thank you very much and that is what i was hoping to hear. Can you reference NEC article that would allow such an application?

Craigv

Thank you very much and that is what i was hoping to hear. Can you reference NEC article that would allow such an application?

There are several articles that state the circuit load shall not exceed various percentages of the OCP for the circuit. This depends on the type of load and circuit, so the specifics of your scenario would help narrow it down.

An an obvious solution that usually isn't very feasible but is worth mentioning is to size the circuit to handle both loads. Just mentioned it in case...

Core_d

Thanks again, this is in a way theoretical.