UL approval on equipment

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a General Contractor and have a customer who uses GPU(Ground Power Units) to start turbo prop aircraft in a project I just built. This is a portable device that plugs into a 480V receptacle we provide. The GPU does not have a UL approval and the Electrical Engineer says NEC requires All equipment to have UL approvals to meet code. Is this true?

This issue came up when the plug on the device shorted out because the operator pulled the wires out of the male receptacle. The circuit breaker in the electrical inside 480v panel did not trip but the main outside distribution panel breaker for the 480v service did trip. The engineer said that could happen because it may bne more sensitive. Shouldn't the inside smaller breaker trip before the larger outside breaker trip??

This is a South Florida project completed this year.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
The NEC doesn't require all equipment to be third party listed but local codes might. The tripping problem sounds like a breaker setting, is the main an electronic breaker and does the service have GFP?

Roger

mgookin

I am a General Contractor and have a customer who uses GPU(Ground Power Units) to start turbo prop aircraft in a project I just built. This is a portable device that plugs into a 480V receptacle we provide. The GPU does not have a UL approval and the Electrical Engineer says NEC requires All equipment to have UL approvals to meet code. Is this true?

This issue came up when the plug on the device shorted out because the operator pulled the wires out of the male receptacle. The circuit breaker in the electrical inside 480v panel did not trip but the main outside distribution panel breaker for the 480v service did trip. The engineer said that could happen because it may bne more sensitive. Shouldn't the inside smaller breaker trip before the larger outside breaker trip??