IR image question

Status
Not open for further replies.

marcram

I am an infrared inspector and typically do commercial roofs. I was asked to shoot an electrical sub panel in a condo by a realtor and this is what i found. The hottest conductor in the pic is the neutral coming from the main panel, it was over 105 degrees when shot individually. It was hot only at the terminal. The other two conductors, (the hots) were typical. Just wondering for my own personal knowledge, what would be some things that my cause this condition?
Appreciate the info.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
When you hit the Reply button, do you see a "Manage Attachments" button below the bix into which you type your reply? That is how you post a photo.

GeorgeB

ElectroHydraulics engineer (retired)
Occupation
Retired
The hottest conductor in the pic is the neutral coming from the main panel, it was over 105 degrees when shot individually. It was hot only at the terminal. The other two conductors, (the hots) were typical. Just wondering for my own personal knowledge, what would be some things that my cause this condition?
NORMALLY, heat is caused by current flow through a resistance. Assuming that to be the case, for one terminal to be a higher temperature than another suggests (in order of likelihood to me) a loose screw, a stripped screw, a bad terminal, or wrong size wire. If this is a 120/240 single phase panel, the "neutral" cannot have higher current than the "hots"; indeed, normally it will be the difference in the current of the 2 "hots".