Residential garage recptacles

Status
Not open for further replies.

HoosierSparky

Senior Plans Examiner, MEP
Occupation
Senior Plans Examiner
I am most probably wrong, I was a building inspector, but I thought I remember reading that under the 2014 NEC GFCI receptacles are required for each car space. I just can't find it in the book. Am I having another senior moment? :?

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Here is the article

(G) Basements, Garages, and Accessory Buildings. For
a one-family dwelling, at least one receptacle outlet shall be
installed in the areas specified in 210.52(G)(1) through (3).
These receptacles shall be in addition to receptacles required
for specific equipment.
(1) Garages. In each attached garage and in each detached
garage with electric power. The branch circuit supplying
this receptacle(s) shall not supply outlets outside of the
garage. At least one receptacle outlet shall be installed for
each car space.

rcarroll

I posted this question a couple of months ago & it was decided that due to the definition of outlet, a duplex would not suffice.
A receptacle outlet in 2 different boxes are required & don't have to be located in each car space to meet the requirement.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
IMO the wording for the code minimum is quite clear in the code section in post #3, a two car garage needs one duplex anywhere within the garage, a four car garage 2-duplex receptacles, etc.

I posted this question a couple of months ago & it was decided that due to the definition of outlet, a duplex would not suffice.
A receptacle outlet in 2 different boxes are required & don't have to be located in each car space to meet the requirement.

Interesting. :D

James L

Occupation
Electrician

IMO the wording for the code minimum is quite clear in the code section in post #3, a two car garage needs one duplex anywhere within the garage, a four car garage 2-duplex receptacles, etc.