I failed

Status
Not open for further replies.
OHMY

1. The components-electrical contacts (guts of the receptacle) are manufactured identically for 15 and 20 amp rated receptacles. Take a look at Tables 210.21(B)(3). This specifically permits the 15 or 20 amp rated receptacles on a 20 amp rated circuit.
It does not take a rocket scientist to understand this.
I wonder, do you own or have access to the UL White Book?

If you cannot agree with that, it is not a safety issue, maybe you should think of removing yourself as an inspector.
Also, take a look at the paperwork you signed to become an inspector. It is not your decision as an inspector to override the NEC or local codes. If that was the case, you live (in your mind) the 'wild wild west'.

I am also an inspector, I do make mistakes from time to time. I will listen to the contractor, discuss the topic with others, and change my mind if need be. It is not so bad to be wrong once in a while.
But...it really irritates me when someone like you comes along to wreck havoc on the system and the general reputation of inspectors.
I do not know how old you are, but it is never too late to learn new habits.

Ohmy

OHMY

1. The components-electrical contacts (guts of the receptacle) are manufactured identically for 15 and 20 amp rated receptacles. Take a look at Tables 210.21(B)(3). This specifically permits the 15 or 20 amp rated receptacles on a 20 amp rated circuit.
It does not take a rocket scientist to understand this.
I wonder, do you own or have access to the UL White Book?

If you cannot agree with that, it is not a safety issue, maybe you should think of removing yourself as an inspector.
Also, take a look at the paperwork you signed to become an inspector. It is not your decision as an inspector to override the NEC or local codes. If that was the case, you live (in your mind) the 'wild wild west'.