EST3 and QS1 | Battery Simulation

Status
Not open for further replies.

Khrno

Hi everyone, i'm configuring some QS1 and EST3 panels. But our client request us not to use the batteries (24 Vcd back up) for the panel because they will use an UPS for the whole system. The thing is that we need to, somehow, suppres the message trouble that will appear at the display.

I'm not an expert configuring those panels, and this request seems somehow near to impossible, if any of u have any suggestion to achieve this, I'll be glad to hear it.

iwire

Staff member
HBut our client request us not to use the batteries (24 Vcd back up) for the panel because they will use an UPS for the whole system.

Tell the client they do not get that option.

Where I am the panels will have their own battery back up.

The panel will supervise the battery and charger.

I believe you will find that NFPA 72 prohibits what the client wants.

gadfly56

Occupation
Professional Engineer, Fire & Life Safety
Tell the client they do not get that option.

Where I am the panels will have their own battery back up.

The panel will supervise the battery and charger.

I believe you will find that NFPA 72 prohibits what the client wants.

You are correct.

Per NFPA 72, 2002 and 2007 edition, section 4.4.1.5.1, you must have standby batteries that will carry the panel for at least 4 hours. In addition, the generator must meet the requirements of NFPA 110, Chapter 4, for a Type 60, Class 24, Level 2 system. Installation per NFPA 70, article 701.

Last edited:

Khrno

well the panle will be power up by the UPS, not quite sure but that may over come the NFPA issue.

how does the battery charger works? is it possible to disable hardware mode?

gadfly56

Occupation
well the panle will be power up by the UPS, not quite sure but that may over come the NFPA issue.

how does the battery charger works? is it possible to disable hardware mode?

Okay, let's try the unsubtle approach....

YOU DON'T GET A CHOICE!!!!!