Reverse Polarity Bootleg Ground Testing

Status
Not open for further replies.

jxofaltrds

Inspector Mike®
Occupation
ESI, PI, RBO
I'm not an engineer but don't you have paralleled conductors here?
Hopefully someone can explain how or if it is possible for the XLR cables to transfer 'noise' via the 'ground'.

Ground%20Loop%20Currents.JPG

jmsokol

I'm not an engineer but don't you have paralleled conductors here?
Hopefully someone can explain how or if it is possible for the XLR cables to transfer 'noise' via the 'ground'.

View attachment 7064

Yes, you're absolutely correct. The shield of the XLR (microphone) cable connecting two pieces of AC powered sound gear is in parallel with the outlet safety grounds. Since large sound systems are usually plugged into multiple power outlets due to room size and power requirements, many times this interconnected gear will be on separate branch circuits or even different sub panels. You can just put a clamp-meter right around the signal cable and sometimes measure 3 or 4 amps current flow. I'll show you later just how that ground loop hum sneaks into the amplifier's circuity to make hum. It's a real eye opener.

One cheap/quick trick at live sound gigs that will remove this parallel current path (and hum) is to lift (open up) pin 1 (the shield connection) on one end of the XLR cable, so it acts as a shield but does not offer a parallel current path. However, the ability of the amplifier's input circuitry to cancel this 60 Hz "noise" is based on its CMRR (Common Mode Rejection Ratio) measured in decibels. Active electronics (op-amp) circuits are cheap to build and don't take up much space or weight in a amplifier chassis, which is why they're found in all cheap and many mid-priced amplifiers. They offer reasonable CMRR, but nothing great, especially at RF frequencies when their feedback slew rates run out of gas and do all sorts of mischief.