Autotransformer output clipping

Status
Not open for further replies.

LMAO

There are two identical and unloaded 600:690V, 777kVA autotransformers in parallel feeding off a 12470:600V, 7.5MVA transformer.

Here is the autotransformer primary voltage which look OK:

600V.jpg

And this is the autotransformer secondary voltage, the peak part of sine wave seems to be clipped and RMS voltage is only about 650:

690.jpg

Again, there is no load. Anyone has any idea what is going?
Thanks

Besoeker

Then why does primary look OK but secondary is messed up?
I don't know the answer to that.
Do both the transformers show the same distortion on the secondary?
Were the primary and secondary voltages measured at the same time?

JDBrown

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
But why would if look worse on the unloaded secondary than on the primary?
I wonder if this is core saturation?
That's my initial thought as well. It's been several years since I studied transformer theory but, if I recall correctly, an air core transformer has poor coupling but very little distortion. Introducing an iron core helps the coupling immensely, but at the expense of adding distortion into the waveform. That's the theory I recall from my school days; unfortunately, I don't have any real life measurements to compare it to, to be able to say this is or is not a normal amount of distortion.

Possibly a 60Hz transformer being used at 50Hz?
:)
Now don' star' tha' again!

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer