Over correction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Besoeker

Removing splinters from the old lady's head?:p
Not sure I follow you.
But I've been doing motor performance calculations for over forty years.
Often, I've had to provide NNT guaranteed performance figures with swingeing financial penalties for getting it wrong. Penalties that could and would negate any profit margin on the project.
So, getting it wrong wasn't an option.

Phil Corso

Besoeker, "..I've been doing motor performance calculations for over forty years"

Well I've been doing it over 60 years! Maybe I learned a fact or 2 more than you!

FYI, check Stds for the case when a motor's terminal voltage 10% above nominal rating!

Phil

Besoeker

Besoeker, "..I've been doing motor performance calculations for over forty years"

Well I've been doing it over 60 years! Maybe I learned a fact or 2 more than you!

FYI, check Stds for the case when a motor's terminal voltage 10% above nominal rating!

Phil
It's very simple. Load it more, it slips more.

Besoeker

And maybe not. Then, given your obviously advanced years maybe, just maybe, you could have forgotten a few.

Do you use the Steinmetz equivalent circuit?
And have you had to guarantee NNT performance with the potential of iniquitous financial penalties for getting it wrong?

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
In my experience when two respected experts in the same field get widely differing results the discrepancy usually results from mismatched assumptions and conditions going in.

Besoeker

In my experience when two respected experts in the same field get widely differing results the discrepancy usually results from mismatched assumptions and conditions going in.
My results have financial consequences. Getting them wrong is not an option.

Here are the results for a 625kW motor driving a pump.