Current on Grounded Conductor

Status
Not open for further replies.

DBoone

Occupation
General Contractor
A friend of mine does not believe that the grounded conductor carries current. I have tried to explain to him a several occasions that it does in fact carry current and how the "neutral" on a 2 wire 120v circuit carries the same current as the "hot" but all of my attempts to convince him have not worked. He is set on the thought that the "neutral" does not have any current on it. He says "if it had current on it people would be getting shocked and possibly killed everytime they touched a meter, panel, etc. Even if I put my clamp meter on the "neutral" and showed him that it read current I still believe he would have some explanation. So, seeing as how I'm relatively new to the field and I can't seem to find the proper words to give him a clear understanding, could you professionals put into layman's terms why we do not get a shock from a properly installed "neutral" and what scenarios would cause the "neutral" to become a shock hazard and potential life ender. Thanks!

kwired

Electron manager