LED: Replace versus Retrofit

Status
Not open for further replies.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
We are planning to upgrade the lighting in 20 to 40 year old buildings to LEDs. A colleague and I are writing the work scope upon which prospective contractors will base their bids. I am not a lighting designer, and know little about LED retrofit kits. (I can't believe I am about to say this) Can anyone shed some light on this subject for me? Specific questions:
  1. Given the age of the buildings, is it possible, or even likely, that no retrofit kits exist that can be installed in the original fixtures?
  2. Is it a certainty that one of the options (replace or retrofit) will always be cheaper than the other (parts and labor included)?
  3. Other than removing, bypassing, or otherwise disabling a ballast, and then installing an LED driver somewhere, will the LED bulbs (if that's the right word) fit into the same mounting configuration as the old bulbs? For example, remove the old four foot fluorescent tube, with its two small pins on both sides, insert a four foot LED "tube," with its identical pins, twist the LED tube 90 degrees, and it snaps into the same clips. Is that how it works, or does the installer have to replace the clips with something compatible with the LED tube?
  4. I have heard it suggested that for metal halide and high pressure sodium fixtures, all you need to do is unscrew the old bulb and screw in a new LED bulb. Is it really as simple as that?
Thanks for any information and advice.

Barbqranch

Occupation
Plant maintenance electrician Semi-retired
We replaced 32 W 4 foot fluorescents with a type of 4 foot LED that is designed to interchange. However, they need the electronic ballasts rather than the older magnetic ones. A few years earlier, we had gotten a grant that upgraded our ballasts and tubes, so that was not a problem. We've been very happy w/ them. Approx. 12 W each, and more light.

LarryFine