Single Wire Utility Transformers?

Alfont1120

Occupation
Electrical Project Manager/Journeyman Electrician
They are replacing the poles and upgrading transformers in my area and while observing the new xfmr from the ground I noticed it only has one wire on the primary and 3 on the secondary side. I'm struggling to understand how this could work. Are they using a high voltage single phase feed (one wire the hot, the other wire the ground?) and using that to create 120/240V through the xfmr? Does this mean the ground wire is also playing the role of the neutral? I feel like I should understand how this works lol, i've been an electrician way too long to be this ignorant of the utilities!

drcampbell

Occupation
Registered Professional Engineer
The other side of the primary winding is connected to the transformer's metal case.

It's likely that there is a second primary wire, which is not readily visible because it's stapled directly to the pole.

Alfont1120

Occupation
Electrical Project Manager/Journeyman Electrician
The other side of the primary winding is connected to the transformer's metal case.

It's likely that there is a second primary wire, which is not readily visible because it's stapled directly to the pole.
Wouldn't that be a ground if its connected to the transformers metal case?

drcampbell

Occupation
Registered Professional Engineer
Wouldn't that be a ground if its connected to the transformers metal case?
You may not realize it, but that question strikes a nerve.

Many utilities use a distribution system called "Multiply-Grounded Neutral". There's a Y secondary, often ~15kV phase-to-phase and ~8kV phase-to-neutral, and the neutral is connected to a ground rod at each pole where there's a transformer.