Today I was a plumber....

Status
Not open for further replies.

hardworkingstiff

emahler said:
here is food for thought...in my area it's not uncommon for plumbers to get upwards of $10 a foot to trench and put a 4" empty PVC in the ground for sewer....so, for example a 50' run from the house to the curb for $5000+/-

Hopefull they are better at math, 50' x $10/foot = $500 :smile:

See, they really don't make more money, we just think so because we are told so.

emahler

hardworkingstiff said:
Hopefull they are better at math, 50' x $10/foot = $500 :smile:

See, they really don't make more money, we just think so because we are told so.

oops:shame:

it didn't seem right when I typed it, but i went with it anyway...

alas, they get $100/ft...not $10...and yes, i know plumbers who will get $5k for that installation....what can I say, i'm not smart enough to be a plumber:shrug:

emahler said:
alas, they get $100/ft...not $10...and yes, i know plumbers who will get $5k for that installation

When the customer is told the price for a "dig 'em up" like that they very ofen have a backed up mess in their basement to deal with as well. They might pay $10,000. with that sort of motivation.

Aren't too many emergency "heavy ups" being done, are there?

That said, it still seems like too many EC's agree to to low a price.

LawnGuyLandSparky

BryanMD said:
Aren't too many emergency "heavy ups" being done, are there?

That said, it still seems like too many EC's agree to to low a price.

Actually, "unexpected" is more like it. Already shelling out big $$$ for the new Central A/C or the new IG swimming pool with optional hottub... and find out a service upgrade is unavoidable.

Wibber

keesha said:
Why do suppose that is?

It's so simple. There are too many electricians. Everybody wants to be an electrician, people comprimise and become plumbers.