Grounding a mast

Status
Not open for further replies.

goldstar

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I've never done this before but I'm just curious as to whether it can be done without violating an NEC section. I've been asked to repair a service drop at a house that was damaged by Hurricane Sandy (yeah, she waited until now to call me when it's 5 degrees outside). Anyway, this woman doesn't have a lot of $$ so I'm trying to do this the least expensive way I can. The town inspector came by and told her she needed a mast installed and a new meter enclosure. Can I install a 2" gal conduit through the roof, come out under the eave and secure the conduit to the house but not run the gal all the way to the meter enclosure ? It's only a 100 amp service and I want to use SE cable inside the conduit. If I install a water pipe ground clamp on the 2" gal just below the service head and bond it to the neutral of the triplex would I be compliant ? This is what the house looks like :

Damage on front of house

Claire-Oakland001_zps9d84580c.jpg

Location of proposed mast on rear side of house just past peak

Claire-Oakland002_zpse4a9deea.jpg

Location of existing meter

Claire-Oakland003_zps5a8d3349.jpg

Hope you can see why I'm not too thrilled about installing threaded pipe. Garbage trucks can't get under the triplex as it is right now.

John120/240

I would get out the heat gun and use a PVC riser. Then support the drop from a ceramic insulator on a screw eye. My gut feeling is that the

rigid metallic conduit needs to be continous to the meter. I have been wrong before .

Last edited:

renosteinke

Why the half-measures? "Economy" doesn't really come into it - you'll spend as much on material, and more in time, trying to find shortcuts.

Set the new base / disco - I'll bet you need a disco out there now - where you will, with a proper mast. Pipe isn't that expensive.