extension cords

Status
Not open for further replies.

RICK NAPIER

The secret is to use surge arrestors not plain extension cords. Surge arrestors come in varies lengths with multiple tap ends and are not considered a temporary device. Just don't plug one into another.

tryinghard

A few years ago I asked our local fire marshal what the greatest causes of fires are, she knew I was an electrician but I did not prod. She answered that it's not something they track but high on the list is extension cords.

renosteinke

I think you've all danced around the answer to the question.

The sentiment is that using extension cords for an extended period is a bad idea, and that a receptacle ought to be installed closer to the appliance / utilization equipment / point of use.

Saying "it's not an NEC violation" really isn't an answer. Our responsibility does not stop with the electrical code. Many things - smoke detectors and exit lighting are two examples - are determined by codes other than the NEC. We need to also know those other codes.

The entire distinction between 'appliance' and 'utilization equipment' also becomes moot as soon as we learn that other codes use the words differently, or have different terms (such as 'protable appliances')

Perhaps we can find a clue in my experiences - the only code authority that I have seen make an issue over extension cord use has been the fire marshall. This suggests that the call is based on the fire code.

So, what's wrong with using extension cords? Well, there's the obvious matters of tripping over them, pinching them, or otherwise damage they may receive. Less obvious is the issue of size; it's the rare cord that has #12 or #10 wire in it. Often you can find #16 cords used on 20 amp circuits ...

I believe that this is the primary concern that lies behind UL's issues concerning appliance pigtails; most pigtails are too small for water heaters, etc.

iwire

Staff member