GEC placement

wc86

Occupation
Electrician
Hello all I'm a bit of a novice at doing residential work but I'm looking to do a 200a service upgrade for a 2-family house(see attached photo). In this example would I be able to tie the GECs in the meter enclosure? I have not been able to source any 3xmeter/main combo units from any supply houses around me. I spoke with another electrician that said even though the POCO(national grid) doesn't allow GECs in the meter enclosure the NEC would overwrite that. Any other input/advise would be appreciated.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20240124_121616_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20240124_121616_Gallery.jpg
    709.5 KB · Views: 37
  • Screenshot_20240120_140731_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20240120_140731_Gallery.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 38

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
POCO can have their own restrictions and IF they say no GEC in the meter socket you have to follow their rules.
(AFIK those restrictions vary by POCO)
You can attached ahead of their sockets or from your disconnects (such as from a wireway) or from each of your disconnects.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
The meter(s) are the most logical place for the GEC but some ignorant POCO's do in fact prohibit it

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member
The meter(s) are the most logical place for the GEC but some ignorant POCO's do in fact prohibit it
And in WA I have never seen a meter socket with a lug for the GEC, and our state electrical rules do not allow as the connection is not accessible once the meter is sealed

wc86

Occupation
Electrician
POCO can have their own restrictions and IF they say no GEC in the meter socket you have to follow their rules.
(AFIK those restrictions vary by POCO)
You can attached ahead of their sockets or from your disconnects (such as from a wireway) or from each of your disconnects.
1.Attach ahead of meters-
  • Would this just be a junction box above the meters?