swimming pool light shocking

Status
Not open for further replies.

Proebrian

I have a 120v pool light that you can get tingling sensation with 1 volt to earth. I have lots of experience with pools and have always been able to resolve stray voltage with correct bonding. We have checked all bonding it is correct. If you disconnect the ground wire coming from house subpanel feeding pool subpanel you loose the 1 volt at the light and the tingling sensation?

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
What wire are you disconnecting to make the voltage go away? "Ground" does not mean anything in the NEC world.

mgookin

I have a 120v pool light that you can get tingling sensation with 1 volt to earth. I have lots of experience with pools and have always been able to resolve stray voltage with correct bonding. We have checked all bonding it is correct. If you disconnect the ground wire coming from house subpanel feeding pool subpanel you loose the 1 volt at the light and the tingling sensation?

Welcome to the forum.

Are you asking a question or making a statement in your last sentence?
If removing that connection results in the stray voltage going away, then it is likely that something on the house side of it is putting that stray voltage on it.

Proebrian

When i disconnect the equipment grounding conductor the stray voltage is gone. My understanding is if all metal part are bonded together it should make all the pool water,equipotenial bond on deck ect to be one potential and preventing any shock hazard. Even with a back feed on the grounding conductor

Fulthrotl

~Autocorrect is My Worst Enema.~

is light fed from pool subpanel, or house subpanel?

does having pool pump running or not change anything?

is there a salt chlorinator, chlorine and acid pump, or anything
else 120 volt powered in contract with the pool water?

is there a gradient in the pool water, or is the tingling even
thruout the pool?

pool light incandescent, or LED?

Proebrian