A Publication AFCI manufacturers and CMPs don't want you to read

Status
Not open for further replies.

mbrooke

Batteries Included
Occupation
Technician
Unlike mbrooke I could not possibly care any less at all about what other countries use or how they do things. i am not an electrician outside of my area.

But it pays to research. AFCIs are a blatant knock off of the IEC's arc mitigation system, or at least that is what many in the development of AFCIs obsessed replicating. So much to the point they went as far as convincing the CPSC and in turn manufactures to replicate European circuit breakers. AFCIs are just a counterfeit extension of that.

AFCIs have not been a success in the US, yet despite this they are being sold to the rest of the world as an original idea full of success supposed to revolutionize in fire mitigation when they are not only a gimmick but a microcode imitation of existing IEC fire mitigation techniques.

http://blog.schneider-electric.com/...ice-afdd-can-prevent-from-an-electrical-fire/

http://www.electrical-installation.org/enwiki/Arc_Fault_Detection_Devices_(AFDD)

romex jockey

Occupation
electrician
It does not make them ignorant, it makes them get paid.

Would you sell a homeowner one of these for $1000, and tell him/her they'd never have an electrical fire Mr Iwire?

15705762_1_l.jpg

~RJ~

ICC

And purpose and design.

A GFCI or GFP may be part of a combination unit as in a GFCI or GFP circuit breaker or they can be stand alone devices that only protect against line to ground faults and do nothing for line to line faults or simple circuit overloads.

Thank you. I f I understand well, it' like differential switchs or differential breakers...

Can I ask you why a person living in France cares one bit about what the NEC AFCI rules are?

Of course iwire.

I know the USA, and I like this country, among others..

I have to go, thank you :)

Best regards,

ICC-

iwire

Staff member